Tom Bombadil

Lord of the Rings

One of the books I am reading right now is “Lord of the Rings”. I am a huge fan of Tolkien, and this is the fourth time I am working my way through The Fellowship of the Ring, which is my favorite book of the trilogy. I do not hurry the book, rather taking it slow and enjoying the writing and the story. I can see hurrying through a book the first time you read it. When you re-read a book, that is when you get to slow down and enjoy it.

My two favorite characters in the book are Tom Bombadil and Goldberry. I love them because they are a mystery. It is life. Our lives are filled with mystery. Within Lord of the Rings Bombadil and Goldberry are a great reflection. The world of Middle Earth is breaking to war, with good and evil pitted against each other. It is something we understand, reflecting our own past. But with Bombadil, he is outside, in the Old Forest. He is beyond the great events.

I do not picture Tom Bombadil as powerful. Not in the way of Gandalf, or Aragorn, Sauron. He does not influence. But he is neither influenced. He does not fear the ring, as Gandalf. It does not affect him. He can wear it, and it has no power. It is not of Bombadil’s realm. I do not know if Bombadil can affect the world around. He is isolated, within the Old Forest, a caretaker beyond the true realms of Middle Earth.

Goldberry is fascinating. She is part of nature, also a caretaker. She is the most beautiful character in Lord of the Rings. She is natural, and all feel joy in her presence. She completes others. Not in a worldly way, of being given in marriage, but in an even more feminine way, pure beauty.

It is good Tom Bombadil and Goldberry were not included in Peter Jackson’s movies. I feel they are truly mystery, and casting them on screen would make them human, define them. An actor and actress would discuss their roles, their thoughts on the characters. By leaving them within the pages of the book, these characters are left for each individual mind to ponder.

About catholiceyes

Proud father of six.
This entry was posted in Culture, Literature. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment